8 Things I Learned from Angel

2. Remember to Exercise

Autumn and winter days are days with less sun. Have you ever heard of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD)? Some people get lonely, depressed, sleeping more in the daytime and other symptoms. Evidently, dogs experience this as well.

Cloudy days or not, our pets are tuned in to our moods. When they can’t understand what is going on, they get anxious and act up.
Cloudy days mean that we need to do something to be active. Studies show that exercise helps ease the seasonal affective disorder. During sunnier days, walking outside is more fun. Dogs just like people need their exercise. I have learned that the more you exercise, the easier it gets. After you do it for a month, it becomes a habit. After that, your body gets used to it, and you miss it when you don’t exercise.

Exercise is so good for our health. It helps our circulation and helps cleanse our bodies. It helps us get rid of excess body fat and give us a slimmer body. As we age, we need exercise to keep us agile and fit. Walking is my favorite exercise. It is an all-around great exercise that works out the whole body. Thirty minutes a day is not too much to spend for your own health. It is a great investment towards a long and healthy life. Having a pet means we have to walk our dog, and in so doing, we get the benefits of exercise as well. To those who don’t have pets, you still got to exercise. You won’t regret it.

Once when I had a foot injury, I could not walk or run. I started gaining weight. And then I met a therapist that showed me how I could still exercise while lying down. How happy I was then to be able to be able to exercise again. It also helped heal my foot injury. Exercise is really great. Yes, my Angel taught me that!

20131122-204321.jpg

1 thought on “8 Things I Learned from Angel

Leave a comment