Man’s Best Friend

No one can deny the special bond that exists between people and their pets. The dog has been known as man’s best friend precisely because of this human-animal bond. Angel has the kind of mix that makes her look like a red-nosed pitbull. But she has this funny looking set of ears, with one of them cocked and she looks more like Scooby-doo than a pitbull. She’s not as huge as a great dane though, which is what Scooby-doo is supposed to be.

Angel loves me. I can see it in her eyes when she looks at me. I can feel it in her excitement every time I come through the door. In the day time as I go about doing my chores, Angel is right beside me. Up and down the stairs, as I go around the house doing housework, she is with me every step of the way. When I go up to the bedroom to pick up laundry, she trudges up the stairs. Sometimes it cracks me up because it seems like she is mocking me — copying the way i walk up those steps. When I put the laundry in the washer, she finally lies on the floor behind me, and sighs. I don’t blame her, and it makes me chuckle whenever she does it.

The only housework I do that she probably doesn’t like is vaccuuming. It must be the noise. But even then she doesn’t stay that far away. As soon as the vaccuming is done she is back right on my side again. And when I am done with my chores and ready for my nap, she is so excited to lie down on the floor next to the bed, sighing loudly as she plops down to nap herself. As if she is saying, “finally”.

20131102-182834.jpg

Maybe I am just biased, but just look at those pretty brown eyes, I’m pretty sure you can see the love shining through.

2 thoughts on “Man’s Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Sharing the Bed. | What am I doing?

Leave a Reply

